Wanderings in Chiang Mai

Here is a photo collection of my first week in Chiang Mai

Day 1 Monday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The “main event” was being introduced to Northern Thai food. I was told this place was “very Thai”- it was outside and no foreigner was in site. My favorite dish was the sticky rice. I got to roll it up in a ball and then dip it in curry. I enjoyed “playing” with my food.” Thai food has lots of chili so my body was a little shocked but I enjoyed the kick.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 2 Tuesday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A moment in Chiang Mai

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
That’s so Thailand: Temple. Motorbike. A tourist in harem pants.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A little coffee shop I went to. So cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This cafe was called “Into the Woods Cafe.” My inner musical theatre nerd was very happy.

Day 3 Wednesday

IMG_0516.JPG
I have learned that “green tea” in Thailand is more like a green tea latte. This one was the size of my head and the color of a milky way pen. Only 25 baht.

IMG_0520.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wat Chedi Luang

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I didn’t go see the holy object- my mom and aunt were super curious!
IMG_0674.JPG
This black and gold temple was near a coffee shop. I just love the contrast.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Love me some street art.

Day 4 Thursday

This was my day “off” so naturally I had three Thai iced teas. I bought exciting things like conditioner and razors and even managed to find a curly hair product! A CURLY HAIR PRODUCT IN ASIA, YA’LL.

IMG_0686.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg
This lady is my favorite- 25 baht and a short walking distance from where I am staying.

Day 5 Friday

Wat Phra Singh

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I almost forgot I took the photos below!

IMG_0932.JPG

IMG_0934.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just look at it.

Day 6 Saturday

I taught for six hours. During my lunch break I saw this charming sign so I took a photo on my iPhone.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

I also posted these on social media of my “artistic challenge.” It was sort of fun and different than anything I have done. I want to try another color or two.

IMG_0831

IMG_0836

 

Leave a Reply

