A Visit to a Temple

“I got to go to temple for my birthday. Do you want to come?”

“Yes, please.”

I didn’t know where the temple would but I thought it would be in the city center. Well, it was actually the opposite way farther away from it all. It was the first time I have been to a temple with no Chinese tourists.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The blessing was dropped off. We were ready to leave and I was ready to take some pictures of the grounds. I have bought a bracelet from almost every temple I have visited in Thailand. While here I saw the box full of various colors but I saw a white one, the color I had been wanting next. I put the 100 Baht in the box, grabbed the little piece of jewelry, and the monk said something in Thai. They translated for me: He said you look like a famous female Thai boxer. Definitely a blessing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_0988.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_1036.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was told the bathroom was “very good.” I thought nothing of it as my standards of bathrooms have changed drastically after life in China. But then I saw the sign” Best Public Toilet of the Year. Do they have bathroom competitions? Do they rate them on some app? What makes this public toilet the best?

I was intrigued but didn’t have to use the bathroom. I sat down but then a thought hit me. Go to the bathroom. Just go see. Last week I posted on Facebook a picture that said, “Invitation to worship holy object” and both my aunt and mother wanted to know what it was. I didn’t go and they wondered how I wasn’t curious. I really was just lazy and tired.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took off my shoes and crossed the small bridge. I entered the building and looked for the woman’s room but it wasn’t divided by sex. A few moments later is clicked. There was a stall for each zodiac year. Toilet of the year. Horse. Sheep. Goat. Dragon. Rat.

Year of the horse was the first on the right. I entered. There was no toilet paper but the goat next door had a few squares to spares for me.

After I was told this bathroom is lucky. Now I can say I have been to and peed in a lucky bathroom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have you ever used a bathroom assigned by zodiac sign? Would you ever want to?

 

3 thoughts on “A Visit to a Temple

Leave a Reply

