Wat Jetlin

This was one of the six temples I visited on my day off.
This was right next door to Wat Fon Soi. I walked in. A dog was napping and three monks watched. A man was also there who I assumed was some sort of grounds keeper. Right away he gave me the stick to hit the gigantic gong that was just a couple feet from the entrance. I was slightly flabbergasted. Most people at temples just ignore me. Just another tourist snapping a million photos. When visiting temples I stay quiet and try to keep to myself.
Not only did he want me to hit the thing bigger than me, he wanted to me to have a photo memory of it. He took my photo, I hit it, and another photo was taken. It was a warm welcome to one of my favorite temples.
IMG_1465.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because of my work schedule I never get to take photos near sunset. And now that I think of it I have never taken photos near sunset until this day. The lighting was just perfect. I don’t even know how to describe it. I was in heaven. I couldn’t stop taking photos of this beautiful place. There was a slight golden glow all over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wanted to give a little donation to this temple. It was a small one but I felt at peace and felt the urge to give a financial gift. Wat Chedi Luang is near by which is a big and famous and people are always there crowded around the entrance. Red taxis wait for tourists. There is always a sense of “business” whenever I pass.

It made me wonder about the smaller temples. Do less people visit? Do less people donate? Is there any type of competition between the temples? Just in this small area was about four temples but the city is filled with literally hundreds of them and most of them are small and hidden.

I only had 1,00 baht bills- the biggest they have. I decided to go buy something to make change small enough for a donation. As I walked a few Chinese tourist entered with smoothies in cups as big as their heads. I bought over priced orange juice at a store across the street and waited for what seemed like forever for my change. I put the money in the box thankful for my time at Wat Jetlin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Wat Jetlin

Leave a Reply

