Life of Pai

I learned about Pai when a hostel in Pai liked a photo of mine on Instagram. It was a circus school hostel and decided I had to visit. From a quick Google search I learned it would be a perfect long weekend trip.

Like most things in Asia buying a bus ticket was easy and “getting there was half the journey.” I can’t remember if I didn’t know or read and didn’t care but the road to Pai is a twisty one. It is so grand that you can buy a shirt saying you survived all the curves. I get car sick pretty easy. I can’t even look at my phone in a taxi. This road was brutal- just insane curves. I got horrible motion sickness and thought I would be throwing up on the two monks besides me. Thankfully I made it to Pai barf free.

IMG_1920.JPG
The rest stop on the ride to Pai

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started walking to the hostel. It wasn’t in the main part of town but I always prefer that. I kept walking. And then walked over a hill and still couldn’t find the place. I was exhuasted and decided to go to a place I passed along the way: Twin Hut Guesthouse. It was perfect and quiet. I got my own little hut with a view of a rice field and a hammock. It also included breakfast in the morning. It ended up being way cheaper than the other place so I was super happy to save some cash.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just look at this view.
FullSizeRender
Perfection.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I walked around in the evening and decided my best option was to book a tour. I picked a place without much searching thinking they are all around the same price. They were impressed I spoke Mandarin so they gave me some food.

IMG_1945
More hammock time because hammocks.

I woke up early the next day, got some banana pancakes with coffee, and was picked up on a motorbike.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I woke up to this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_1953.JPG
I got to eat breakfast here. Like come on.
IMG_1955.JPG
Yummy.

The first stop was Sai Ngam Hot Spring. The water was warm and clear.

IMG_1960.JPG

IMG_1963.JPG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View on a break.

The next stop was Nam Lod Cave which was so incredible it will get its own post. Its my second cave I have visited so far (the first is in Laos). Just look at it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last we swam at a river as it was super hot and we wanted to cool off. There was some water buffaloes near by.

I am super happy I did this half day tour as it let me see the surrounding area. There was no way I would have been able to go any of these places on my own. And this company charged so very little. It was a great deal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next morning I took some pictures of the scenic landscape. I rode back on a bus to Chiang Mai but this time with motion sickness medicine. It was a much better ride.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overall, I enjoyed my time in Pai. It was a super hippy town with lots of backpacker and tourist but once I got over about belong I just enjoyed my time there eating smoothies and relaxing

Leave a Reply

